The Blog Monster worries…. Sign o the times

Ok…so clearly there is a problem. (Salma…hmmmmmm).I am posting for the third time today.

I am still in a bit of a comfort zone, because at this point I have only told Salma about my blog. My posts are coming from a really fearless place because at this point, its pretty much just showing my best friend what I wrote in my diary.

Now, as much as I love the convenience of technology, I have been more than a little resistant to getting too caught up with it, unlike my crackberry sisterfren. 🙂 Maybe I am taking this stance because it just doesn’t fit into my budget, and I am comforting my ego by pretending to be a dissenter.

Now, I remember a world of encyclopedias, libraries, cassette tapes, music stores (with plenty people inside), developing a roll of film at Benjies, praying and hoping that the pictures came out cute, and pay-phones that people used for making calls, and not for pissing on.

I never thought the day would come when I would say something like, “back in my day”,…lol, but …back in my day, there was a sense of anticipation.

Case in point 1.  When 2 Live Crew first came out with “Me so Horny” There was one cassette tape that circled around between about 20 of us. We were all aware of the controversy of the song, (though I never truly understood what horny meant ’til a few years later,..lol but I digress),…and we all wanted to hear this song. We did not have the luxury of the internet or instant download. Those words weren’t even in our vocabulary. Our lil asses had to wait our turn to hold that ‘me so horny tape’, and boy did I look forward to hearing what all the fuss was about. Also, there was no instant back. We had to rewind and watch that shit like a hawk, to make sure that it didn’t go back too far, if we wanted to replay a song 🙂 

Case in point 2. I remember on the rare occasion when I allowed my picture to be taken when I was growing up having to wait to see if I looked like a freak or skeletor, or some other abyss creature. I would have to wait ’til the roll of film was finished, then my mom would have to find the time to take it to the photo place to get developed, and then wait for them to call you and tell you that you could come get your pictures a week later.

Case in point 3…

Lexicon anyone.. actually flipping through a bunch of heavy frikken encyclopedias to get the information for a project … (Thankful for progress in this situation). In Wikipedia name,.Amen.

For the most part, our lives have been made easier, and more convenient, but everything isn’t better.One thing I really aprreciate from my era though, is the feedom we had. “What freedom?” you may ask. Well the freedom to be young, make mistakes and do dumb shit. 

In this world of “Insta-everything”….Instant music, instant pictures, instant calls, instant information, instant connections, instant coffee, my beautiful kids will never be able to fukup in piece. One false move and a cell phone  camera could have their dumbassness broadcast all over the world wide web, for all the masses to see.

I love technology but I worry about the insta-consequences.

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Blog Monster worries…. Sign o the times

  1. Salma says:

    I loved stonewash jeans and want a pair. And popcorn socks – Wearing 3 pairs at a time. That shit used to hurt like hell! I guess wearing 3 pairs of socks at a time would do that to you – But it was insta-fab! So to hell with it I’d risk a few toes 🙂

    • bak2moi says:

      Sorry Love,..lol never got into the popcorn socks ,..lol ..rocked the hell out of dem acid wash jeans though. Indeed it was insta-fab.. You think Acid wash gon’ come back?

Leave a comment