The Raid: Redemption

Possibly the best action movie I’ve ever seen…No exaggeration. I was trolling youtube a few weeks ago and came across a  trailer link for a film called ‘The Raid: Redemption’.

I was really intrigued by it and the reviews at the bottom were stellar. So I call up my movie guy and say,

“You ever heard about this movie called Raid Redemption?”,

“No.” he replied.

“Look up the trailer and find it for me, cause for some reason, I think it’s gonna be wicked.” I responded.

About 2 weeks after that conversation, he found it and called me. His exact words were,

“Tameka! dis movie bad no fuck,..murda. Da movie sweet a rass. Bes’ movie ma see inna one long time.”

lol 😀

This is coming from someone who has seen ‘The Avengers’ and was in love with it.

So I go get the movie. My husband and I decided that it would be our movie night pick. He’d never heard of it either. I was patting myself on the back, because, here I am, Miss.Romantic Comedy / Drama, advising people on action flicks. My ego was through the roof, because my movie guy loved it soo much. If he loved it, I figured my husband would love it as well.

I thought I would like it no doubt, but like I said, because I’m not usually an action movie freak, I figured I would like it in a different way. But you know what, I loved the fighting, the out of this world ass kicking and minimum special effects with the fight scenes. Though I know there HAD to be special effects involved, it looked so real you believed that the guys were really getting their asses handed to them.

This movie is so off the wall, it made me get up and start to exercise. I WANT to learn how to fight like that. My husband was actually jumping up and down during some of the scenes,..lol. AWESOMENESS all around.

When we first watched it, we didn’t realize that there was an option to turn on subtitles, so we went through and enjoyed it and understood what was going on. I called my movie guy and asked him what happened to the subtitles when the movie was done, and he told us that the option was there, so we turned it on and immediately watched the movie again. You know what, we were pretty spot on with what was carrying on in the story.

All I can say is, if I ever learn to fight like the guys in this movie, I know a handful of people who may need to permanently vacate Antigua. … 😀 I’m jus’ sayin’ .

This glowing review is coming from somebody who hates over the top violence and action movies in general… I have been reformed. However, this will be my measuring stick for future action movies. My husband tells me  ‘The Expendables’ is good too, so I am going to go buy it.

In the words of my husband and my movie guy..

‘Da movie bad a rass!’

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

