Another first….Father’s Day Lasagne…

 

img_0517-e1340028931704

Sunday was Father’s Day, so like I normally do, I try to cook something extra nice on special holidays and occasions. I am a secret ninja Iron Chef in my mind,  though strangely enough, I hate to cook. When I do though, I go all out.  If I had more time, and was an actual housewife / stay at home mom, I believe I’d thoroughly enjoy cooking, however, by the time I get home from work, all I wanna do is take my clothes off and give the kids cornflakes for dinner, then go and lay down. lol 😀

Anyhow, Sunday, I got the bright idea to make lasagne. Now, I’ve never, ever, in my life attempted to make lasagne, so why I thought I could make it, I dunno. But, I’d already gotten the idea stuck in my head and I couldn’t get it out. Lasagne it was.

Now, please don’t think that my husband has gone lasagne-less, all the years we’ve been together. He’s been partaking of another woman’s lasagne, (my mother’s) so he’s been well fed. I wanted to change all of that for father’s day.

I went online to allrecipes.com and found a lasagne recipe that I liked. I then prepared a shopping list from the recipe ingredients, gave it to my husband and when he left to go and do the shopping, I prayed that I wouldn’t frig up his father’s day dinner. If I did, it would live on in infamy and recounted every father’s day, as the lasagne disaster. When he came back, I was ready…..

……ready to kick lasagne’s ass!

I decided to tackle the easiest thing first, which was cook and drain the lasagne noodles. Figured it may have been the one part of the recipe I wouldn’t f^*k up. 😀 My confidence went through the roof when they came out perfectly. I let them alone to cool.

Second thing I did, was take stock of all my veggies, to see what I was working with.

I sauteed the vegetables (zucchini, broccoli and cauliflower) in my cast iron murder pan, with some garlic, onion, red peppers and a couple dashes of season salt for around 8 minutes.( I call it a murder pan , because if I hit you with it anywhere on your body, you’ll die). 😀 See how it pretty?

I then made my cream sauce, which consisted of half and half, parmesan cheese, enough flour to thicken it, running spinach  and a couple dashes of salt.

Now it was down to the home stretch. So far so good. I prepared the baking dish with butter, then started to layer my lasagne. I started with the thick cream spinach sauce,  then the noodles, then the sauce again, followed by vegetables, a little more sauce, then the mozzarella and cheddar cheese mix. I repeated that 3 times.

When the layering was done, it looked like this….

The oven was pre-heated at 375 degrees for about 10 minutes, then my lasagne experiment was put into it.

When it came out, it looked like…

It was DEE-LISH-OUS.

To accompany my lasagne, I did ground chicken for the kids and fillet fish for the hubby.

In the words of my daughter,

“Oh gosh mommy! Dis ya sweet”…

She  was actually giving me a thumbs up. 😀 I feel pretty proud of myself for tackling it.

My awesome dinner was topped off by a chocolate and strawberry cake, that I did not bake.

We ate well yesterday….. 😀

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

