How it all began…….

Last year some time, I watched a really, (dare I say) “delightful’ movie called Julie & Julia. It chronicled the lives of the famous cook, Julia Child, and a contemporary young woman who decided to give herself a heck of challenge  by cooking through the Julia Child cook book and  simultaneously blogging about it. Something about that young woman’s journey in the movie struck a chord with me and I began to toy with the idea of starting my own blog. I checked out a couple blog templates, opened and subsequently closed blog accounts, because I just couldn’t bring myself to write anything. Funny, cause I am a writer, (though I still gotta keep my day job).

 Will talk more about the writer/author part of my self another time. 🙂

It’s really easy for me to write stuff that I can somewhat separate myself from, but writing something in direct link to me is like pulling teeth. What I’d ended up doing at the beginning of the year (2010), was open up a word file and putting my “blog entries” in there. That was easy. There was no feedback to be had, so no fear of scrutiny or judgement. (I suppose after seeing hundreds of blogs, some about absolutely nothing, some really funny and interesting, some cringe worthy, my FEAR was putting my self out there, and coming across as a vapid, self-indulgent twat),..lol,. but I suppose it’s a chance I’ll have to take.

A few months ago I am talking to my woman/wifey/best friend for lifey Salma aka Nema aka Auntie Nemo, and she says:

“Tameka, I’m thinking about starting a blog.”

Of course I tell her to go for it and tell her of my plight with my blog trepidation and she encourages me the way a good wifey should. Salma has now got me all pumped up and convinces me to join “The Twitter” thing which I had been actively resisting since its inception. So I will state now, that any backlash or negative happenings due to my blogging and twittering will be totally blamed on Salma. I am currently in the process of trying to figure out how to get two lesbians (not that there’s anything wrong with that), to unfollow me on twitter, so already I am not off to a good start. I believe my profile pic has given them the wrong idea.

My only other purpose besides following Salma on twitter, is to get in direct contact with Idris Elba and all of his sexual chocolateyness, and ask him if he would wanna be in a movie with me. He might say yes. Stranger things have happened. If he does say yes, my marriage is officially in trouble, and that will also be blamed on Salma. 🙂

So here I go… Scared to death of what I will end up saying….

It is now the end of the year (2010)

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How it all began…….

  1. Salma says:

    Starting your blog… Free
    Getting 2 lesbians to follow you on Twitter… Totally doable
    Getting Idris Elba interested in hooking up… Priceless

    Tell your husband to worry 🙂

  2. Denese says:

    Start blogging away….. I’m all ears or is that eyes. lol

  3. Errand says:

    Idris is hot for real especially how he walks yum, yum lol, I can say that, am single! looking forward to reading lots on ur blog!

Leave a Reply

