Never Prepared….

IMG-20150224-0000

Just before surgery.

So early one morning, Genesis wakes up with a pain in her stomach she can’t describe. Though I was concerned, she fell back to sleep, and so did I. Then 45 minutes later, same thing happened again. By then it was around 5:30 am, so I started to get prepared for the morning routine. I got ready for work, but told Genesis to just put on regular clothes, so that we could go to her pediatrician. My husband would take Xion to school. In my head, we’d see the doctor, she’d get diagnosed, get some prescribed medication, then come back to work with me and rest on the couch / bed that we got for the back office. We got it to accommodate when my children were there with me, and it’s been amazing to have a dedicated space for them.

It took everything in me to not fall apart, when her doctor suspected appendicitis. Some blood work was ordered, so we went to the lab to get that done, but we were instructed to just go directly to the hospital after her blood was taken. We were there at the hospital, literally all day, awaiting a definitive diagnosis of appendicitis, but they had to rule out all the other possibilities for what was causing her pain.

IMG-20150224-0016IMG-20150224-0012IMG-20150224-0014

My poor baby was such a trooper, but we were so very tired. They decided to admit her for observation in the end.

I called my mom to meet me at the hospital so that she could stay with her for a bit. I then went home, changed and got comfy for my hospital sleep over, packed a mini carry-on type piece of luggage full if what we would need, then went back to stay with my baby. Xion’s dad could hold down the fort at home.

unnamed

She was comfortable, but we were nervous.

Hospital Chic Swag

Hospital Chic Swag

I made my bed on 2 chairs and waited.

Early the following morning, Friday 13th to be exact, I was told that my daughter was going to have to have surgery to remove her appendix immediately. I was devastated. The thought of her having to go under anesthesia freaked me out beyond belief . One of the things that helped me cope, was another parent who’s daughter was admitted soon after Genesis was, with a similar situation. I shared that hospital room with 2 other amazing parents and their brave kids, during the process. For a few days, we became a little family, and have since remained in contact. Both of our daughters had surgery back to back that Friday,..and it was the longest couple of hours of our lives.

Morning after surgery sunrise.

Morning after surgery sunrise.

I couldn’t say thank you God enough. My baby was resting. She was in pain, but she was going to be fine.

After Surgery

After Surgery

The staff at the hospital was amazing, and I was blessed with the perfect roommates. It was a pleasant, unpleasant experience, if that makes any sense. Genesis was discharged a few days later, and my other two hospital roommates children, were discharged within 3 days after her. All children are on the mend and doing well.

No matter how long you’ve been a parent, or how tough you are, you will never be prepared to deal with the roller coaster of emotions, that come with knowing your child is sick, beyond the ‘normal’ scope. Never!

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Never Prepared….

  1. Gary Lum says:

    Good to know Genesis is on the mend. An inflamed appendix is better out than in.

  2. PassionPoet says:

    Ohhhh wow …. glad everything is alright now! I love you …. so glad that Genesis is okay!

  3. chattinatti says:

    Happy that everything went smoothly and Genesis is much better!

Leave a Reply

