This Was Bliss…..

IMG_2032

Not much needs to be said  about Emancipation Park, as it is somewhere that should be experienced and felt, rather than talked and written about.  This place feels like a safe haven, a refuge, and is a  beautiful piece of nature in the middle of hustle and bustle Kingston. When I was there, I couldn’t help but tune out the noise of the outside world, even for a little while, and partake of its energies. I walked around, wishing it was a place I could go to everyday. This place truly brought out the tourist in me.

IMG_1994IMG_1995IMG_1996IMG_1997IMG_2000IMG_2004IMG_2005IMG_2006IMG_2009IMG_2015IMG_2016IMG_2017

Now, as I walked down this long beautiful aisle, towards those two magnificent statues, I began to feel excited. That was one of the monuments I’d see on tv regularly, but never got the privilege of seeing it in person, when I visited Jamaica the last time.I slowly walked towards them, as if I was a bride treading to her wedding march. They got bigger and bigger.

IMG_2021IMG_2026

What a sight they were to behold! Then as I got right up to the statue, with a good shot of the front, I was like WHOA! lolol 😀

I did not expect the anatomical correctness of the male statue, so I stood there in awe,  eyes wide open, with what must have been a hell of a smirk plastered across my face. One of the park attendants walked by and grinned with glee. He said..

‘Boy…you ladies are something else…’

Apparently, he’d grown quite accustomed to the male member gawking.

IMG_2023

Behold the AWESOMENESS of it all! lolol 😀 I’m a bit pervy I know. The park attendant actually ended up taking the picture of me below.

IMG_2029

Like I said, very few words, just go and take it all in. No pun intended,..or maybe a little.    😀

IMG_2030IMG_2031

When it was time to go, I happily retraced my steps to get one last look at everything, as I knew I would not get to go back to the park on this trip, because I had other pressing obligations. I however, made a mental note, to pack a picnic basket, a blanket, a book and a loved one, for the next time around.

IMG_2036IMG_2039IMG_2040IMG_2041

I am looking forward to returning!

IMG_2022

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

