Unofficial Vacation…..And it begins..

caribbean_airlines_plane

While prepping to write my next set of blogs covering my Jamaican expedition, it dawned on me, that I’ve never taken a a real vacation. Anytime I’ve gotten on a plane and gone anywhere, it was for something pretty major in my life; never just to chill. I gotta do that one day. Take a REAL vacation that is, though I believe it’ll start with a staycation, on my lovely island of Antigua.

Any how, this trip was nothing but an emotional roller coaster, from the planning stages, ’til the time I saw my husband’s face, when he came to pick me up at the airport, upon my return to Antigua. Relief is not a strong enough word to describe how glad I am, that this particular journey is over. However, I already miss Jamaica terribly, and am still trying to figure out ways to move my whole family over there. 😀

As much as this was a planned trip, and had been in the planning stages for a long time, things only finally came together, 3 days before my flight was scheduled to leave. My entire Jamaican expedition was extremely taxing financially, but sooo worth it. Jamaica Caribbean Fashion Week had been calling my name for 3 years and I finally decided to grow some nuts and answer. 😀

Thankfully, my plane ride was smooth and uneventful, just like I like it. I didn’t sit next to anyone who kept getting up, or consistently farted, so that was a big plus. I had nothing to declare, no contraband or anything that would get me arrested, so immigration was fairly easy. I visited the airport Cambio and changed my US and instantly went from a hundredaire to a thousandaire. Holding all that money sure did make me feel good. lol 😀

Big Money!

Big Money!

‘Hi hended hup wit height tousan’ four hundred and heighty two dallaz han fifty cents’. 😀

I took a cab to my hotel and I the moment I got there, I knew I was in the right place.

IMG_1747

I checked in, went to my room, plopped down on my bed, and asked myself

“Why the hell did you do this?” 😀

Because it was a late Sunday afternoon (minutes to 4ish)when I got to the hotel, the restaurant was closed. However, I was told that I was fortunate to be staying next to a place, that made great chicken and would still be able to satisfy my hunger. I changed into official tourist gear (pum pum shorts and a vest) and went to get my chicken. This place turned out to be a life saver many times on my trip.

IMG_2045IMG_2046IMG_2047IMG_2048IMG_2049IMG_2050

I got my chicken, my bread, my soda and my water, and I skipped, (yeah I said skipped) back to my hotel, feeling pure joy about 3 things. I was about to eat some good food, Jamaican men said sweet things to me only the way Jamaican men could, while I walked back to my hotel, and I was in freakin’ Jamaica. 😀 I’d wanted to go back for sooo long, and I was completely over the moon to just be there.

Back in my cozy little room, I ate the way women eat, when no man is around to scrutinize. 😀

Peep the awesomeness of my Sunday afternoon dinner.

IMG_1647IMG_1650

After I finished that, all I wanted to do was sleep, but I was happy to just do so, as I knew the rest of the week would have been at the very least, mildly intense. I was looking forward to it though.

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unofficial Vacation…..And it begins..

  1. Floree Williams says:

    I know the feeling of just having a moment of bliss alone!

Leave a Reply

