The Dynamics of trying to do EVERYTHING you want….AND still cook!

cooking joy

I have a love hate relationship with cooking. I do. I LOVE and HATE to do it, at the same time. There are times when I am cooking,..and joy oozes from my pores. I will be listening to my favourite music, singing, dancing vulgarly,  and creating what I think is something pretty effin’ spectacular. I even enjoy plating it and taking pictures and sometimes imagine, that I have my own cooking show. That is how extreme my enjoyment can get when I am in the cooking zone.

Then, there are times when my husband and I are getting into shouting matches, where he insists I don’t cook enough, and that I have to remember that I’m married and have a family to feed.  My plate is full! My cup runneth over! I do the majority (all) of the cleaning, laundry, which entails every aspect from the washing, to the hanging, to the picking up, to the folding up, to the putting away. I don’t leave shit laying around, so it all must be dealt with before I can truly feel as if that task is done. I still have to iron, deal with the kids, help them with their homework, work a full time job, plus my side job in architecture, plus,I have my writing to do, and I still gotta find the energy to be superfreak.

When I don’t wanna cook, and I AM cooking,.. don’t come near me, especially if I have a knife. I’m a cross between Freddie Kreuger and Jason.

psycho

I hate everything and everybody, and I struggle, not knowing what to prepare. Sometimes my husband can me downright prehistoric and if he continues I’m gonna have to start calling him flinstone.  This marriage shit is not for the faint of heart. But I will compromise as much as I am capable, just short of murder, and I will get my ass in the kitchen like a good little wife and cook some shit.

My documented efforts from Yesterday’s breakfast.

IMG_1545IMG_1546IMG_1547IMG_1549IMG_1550IMG_1551IMG_1552IMG_1554IMG_1556IMG_1563IMG_1564 IMG_1568

IMG_1570

Spinach and tomatoes came from our yard. 😀

The plates ended up looking really pretty, if I do say so myself.  I do get joy out of ‘feeding’ my family, even the pre-historic ones, but I can’t lie and say that joy is always involved during the meal preparation process. There is one thing that I KNOW, will increase the happiness in this little cook’s heart, and it is to fulfill a dream that I’ve had for over 10 years.

This dream, which will hopefully be tackled next year, would be to go off to a Parisian cooking course for a few months, and study the culinary arts.

Gay Paris

I wouldn’t mind learning to do some fancy pastry desserts as well.

French Cooking course

I see that I have a few visitors from France,.. lol :-p so feel free to extend an invitation and or accommodations, to assist.

bon

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Dynamics of trying to do EVERYTHING you want….AND still cook!

  1. Tam Brann says:

    Love the honesty in this. I don’t know any super women. It is difficult juggling work, motherhood, marriage and every other extras. But I find it most rewarding when there’s open and honest communication between spouses and when everyone pull their own weight, life is so much easier.

Leave a Reply

