The rather philosophical, ideological and mystical teachings of SpongeBob Squarepants… Yeah Seriously!

To say that I’ve been forced to watch SpongeBob Squarepants since becoming a parent nearly 10 years ago, is a lie. Watching it is a ritual, that is now tightly woven into our daily routine at home, and somewhere along the way, I seriously began to enjoy that little moron. At first, you kind of just sit there, amazed at the kind of mind an individual has to possess, in order to come up with the concept of whimsical, bumbling, sea creatures, that consistently make you laugh your ass off as an adult AND as a child. This guy Stephen Hillenburg (SpongeBob creator),  is a freakin’ genius. And I don’t mean it in the randomly thrown around way the word genius is used these days. He is an American marine biologist, marine scientist, animator, writer, producer, actor, voice actor, and director. I mean, seriously. This guy is one of my heroes. ‘He just don’t leave shit out’.  😀 Hillenburg seems to be the kind of person, who just does whatever he wants to do with his life, regardless of where it falls on the job spectrum, as long as it’s truly a passion. I mean, come one. A biologist, marine scientist and animator and voice actor? Who does that? Stephen Hillenburg does. 😀 I so want to embody that in my own life.

I have a bucket list of people who I want to meet before I pass on to heaven 😀 ( yeah I’m going there),  who I find to be inspirational and worthy of hero-worship, and he is on that list.  So I will within the next 5 years, go on my quest to specifically scope out these people on said list, and hope that I myself am famous enough, that I won’t be tackled by security and tasered, but welcomed with open arms. 😀

Now, I’m sure anyone who reads this blog, or is alive, knows what or who SpongeBob Squarepants is. I’m sure they’ve sat and watched what they thought to be mindless hours of his charades and mis-adventures, and never gave a fleeting thought about it afterwards. But the other day, my son said something and it stuck out. He said…

“Mommy, Plankton so stupid. Why he always do that stuff and he still never get the secret formulae?”

I don’t think he was trying to be deep or anything.  lol .. It was just a simple observation, made   by my fabulous and smart kid. 😀 But I agreed with him 100% and all of a sudden, I had this light bulb, aha moment. Oprah would have been proud. 😀 All of these characters are extreme representations of all of us at our best and worst. Take for example the  protagonist

SpongeBob

He is a naive, goofy, sometimes sickeningly optimistic, who doesn’t take failure or heart-break well. He feels everything deeply, regardless of whatever end of the emotional spectrum, and is unable to contain it.

Patrick Star

The beloved ride or die best friend, that sometimes sets SpongeBob straight, or leads him astray. Either way, they’re going together. We all need that ride or die friend, who won’t throw us under a bus, the moment that it seems to be the only way to save themselves.

Sandy Cheeks

Generally overly friendly and positive Texan immigrant, studying the life of underwater sea creatures. Sandy can however be a vicious bitch when she’s angry. 😀 She’s also extremely intelligent and athletic and usually the voice of reason when chaos ensues.

Eugene H. Krabs

Totally addicted to money, to the point where he relates to it, almost as if it’s a living thing. He’s selfish and greedy and I would describe him not really as a bad guy per say, but as a very flawed character with priority issues, with mild specs of goodness. lol

Squidward Tentacles

Self-absorbed, at times overly confident and delusional about his own talents and wants to be famous and hang amongst the elites. He hates his job, and does it with as little fervour and gusto possible and only becomes truly aware of the people around him in moments of crisis. He’s not a bad guy, but unless you’re SpongeBob, or have his ridiculous sense of optimism, you probably wouldn’t really want to be around him. 😀

Sheldon J. Plankton

Dude is an outright villian. The true definition of a bottom feeder. His only aim in life is to get what he wants (Secret formulae in the krabby pattie) by any means necessary. He didn’t even hesitate to get rid of Karen his computer wife for a newer model wife, as he thought she would be of better assistance in getting the secret formulae.

There is some of them in all of us, but hopefully less of the bad characteristics and more of the good ones. To me, SpongeBob Squarepants is like a cartoonized social experiment, for our viewing pleasure. Next time you watch it, take a deeper look. lol Or not. It’s funny as hell, so whether or not you get some deep philosophical meaning out of it, you will at least get to laugh your ass off.  I’m probably just a little high, cause clearly, I am talking about SpongeBob. 😀

Sometimes it seems as if the true key to happiness, is as elusive and as mysterious as the secret ingredient in the Krabby Pattie… 😀 . Just don’t act like a bottom feeder on the quest to find it. – Tameka Jarvis-George

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The rather philosophical, ideological and mystical teachings of SpongeBob Squarepants… Yeah Seriously!

  1. bajanpoet says:

    All I can say is…… I can relate to getting enlightenment from the ‘idiot box’ and the movie theatre… I remember once (ok more than once) leading someone to faith through The Matrix… “300” is another one of my favourites – learning determination, brotherhood, sacrifice, and strategic planning from that movie. And some kick ass quotes: “you see old friend – I brought more soldiers than you did.” “This is where we fight! This is where they *die*!” YEAAAH

    And don’t even get me started on Lord of the Rings Trilogy ….

    And the Hunger Games Trilogy….

    Yeah…. *bliss*

Leave a Reply

