Still Trying to Shoot the Deputy….

I’ve been waging personal warfare against the devils that are depression and fear. Though those funny little anecdotes about things always being ‘darkest before the dawn’ can be mind numbingly cheesy, I’ve clung  to them. Prayer, bible verses and anything spiritual that would keep my spirits up during these times, I’m holding on to. The words that keep coming back to me are, ‘Be Strong, Be Grateful and Search for Inspiration instead of waiting for inspiration to find you’. You know, there is nothing worse than a sitting duck. So I’ve been firing my bullets, and not taking any bullshit.

I met a remarkable lady online and have been following her journey in the making of a particular film, which I will talk about more in depth, should I be given the privilege of interviewing her or seeing the film, which ever comes first. We’ve only directly corresponded a few times, and she was lovely all 3 times. lol :-D. I would love to get to know her better some day,  beyond just what I’ve read and our brief e-mail correspondences. Since then, I’ve been following her on-line and reading up on her ( Yeah stalkerish I know) 🙂 and she has had nothing short of an amazing and exciting life. Knowing some of the struggles that someone as established and accomplished as she is, has encountered and still encounters, has helped me realize that I need to be firm and stick to focusing on making my dreams a reality, because the struggles WILL always come, regardless. So I am using her as an example to get through my own rough patch.

Now, this film that has recently been completed, is a documentary about her life with Bob Marley. There are lots of documentairies about Bob Marley, that can be found on youtube, and recently a new one that was endorsed by his family, (which I did see and like) was released in theatres a few months ago. I have not seen her film yet, I will soon though, but I have read reviews and I am practically salivating. I came across some really interesting tidbits about it, in regards to things we’ve always heard, but apparently,never really known or understood. So here is my Say What!’ moment of the day.

I don’t think there is anybody over the age of three, who doesn’t know the words to ‘I Shot the Sheriff’ to some degree. Well, this lady co-wrote I shot the Sheriff with Bob. According to some research I came across, what I thought this song meant, is not even close to what it’s really about. All the years I’ve been singing along , who’d a thunk that shooting the sheriff was about birth control.

The origin of the lyrics to “I Shot the Sheriff”, derived from her being on birth control pills.  Bob thought the pills were sacrilege and he wanted her to have his baby. He believed their love was strong and it was sin to kill his seed. The doctor who prescribed those ‘baby-killing pills’ as he called them, became the sheriff. Apparently, these are some of the things to be discovered in this movie. This is why I can’t wait to see it. I get the feeling a lot of blanks about his life will be filled in.

“Sheriff John Brown always hated me,
For what, I don’t know.
Every time I plant a seed,
He said kill it before it grow.’

Bet you won’t listen to this song the same way again. lol 😀 I always thought killing the seeds were about killing marijuana plants.

Now as my mind loves to work overtime, you know I’m gonna  go and over analyze every single verse.

I shot the sheriff 
But I didn’t shoot no deputy, oh no! Oh! 
I shot the sheriff 
But I didn’t shoot no deputy, ooh, ooh, oo-ooh.) 
Yeah! All around in my home town, 
They’re tryin’ to track me down; 
They say they want to bring me in guilty 
For the killing of a deputy, 
For the life of a deputy. 
But I say:  
Oh, now, now. Oh! 
(I shot the sheriff.) – the sheriff. 
(But I swear it was in selfdefence.) 
Oh, no! (Ooh, ooh, oo-oh) Yeah! 
I say: I shot the sheriff – Oh, Lord! – 
(And they say it is a capital offence.) 
Yeah! (Ooh, ooh, oo-oh) Yeah! 

Sheriff John Brown always hated me, 
For what, I don’t know: 
Every time I plant a seed, 
He said kill it before it grow – 
He said kill them before they grow. 
And so: 

(I shot the sheriff.) Oh, Lord! 
(But I swear it was in self-defence.) 
Where was the deputy? (Oo-oo-oh) 
I say: I shot the sheriff, 
But I swear it was in selfdefence. (Oo-oh) Yeah! 

Freedom came my way one day 
And I started out of town, yeah! 
All of a sudden I saw sheriff John Brown 
Aiming to shoot me down, 
So I shot – I shot – I shot him down and I say: 
If I am guilty I will pay. 

(I shot the sheriff,) 
But I say (But I didn’t shoot no deputy), 
I didn’t shoot no deputy (oh, no-oh), oh no! 
(I shot the sheriff.) I did! 
But I didn’t shoot no deputy. Oh! (Oo-oo-ooh) 

Reflexes had got the better of me 
And what is to be must be, 
Every day the bucket a-go a well, 
One day the bottom a-go drop out, 
One day the bottom a-go drop out. 
I say: 

I – I – I – I shot the sheriff. 
Lord, I didn’t shot the deputy. Yeah! 
I – I (shot the sheriff) – 
But I didn’t shoot no deputy, yeah! No, yeah!

I am grateful for this indirect inspiration today, for taking me out of my slump, even for a little bit. Now I gotta go find some more bullets. 😀

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Still Trying to Shoot the Deputy….

  1. momtuition says:

    Hmmm… Interesting. Never thought of the song this way. Feel kinda special knowing the true meaning. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

