Warm Pick me up….

I’ve been having a rough couple of weeks, and am really happy that the kids are out of school on Easter break. Though they are still very young, school is not as it was, when I was a child. No more half of an exercise book and one pencil for a pre-schooler. Even my son has text books, and 3 large hard cover exercise books. My daughter now,…. I can barely lift her school bag. I don’t even allow her to carry it, because it’s soo darn heavy. The really young ones are being bogged down with academics, and I feel it for them.

This school term, my daughter didn’t do as well as she is accustomed to doing. Though she did ok, she was disappointed with her grades.  She had a rough term all around, but I know that she tried really hard, so as a parent, I had to reinforce, that there will be times in our lives when we don’t live up to our own expectations, but we should learn from the experience, then do better the next opportunity we get.

To top it off, her class teacher who took sick in the middle of the term and had been on indefinite leave, passed away, which I believe was a great contributor to her being not as focused as she usually is. All of her classmates are feeling it, and there is nothing we can do as parents, except let them grieve. They loved her very much, and I loved her as well.

We all felt really drained by the end of the term and I am just beyond glad, that I can get away from the early morning rush, trying to get them to school on time and just relax a little.

I have been kind of down and down on myself as well. I am training for something (not as hard as I should, but training non the less), and overall, not pleased about my laziness and lack of motivation. Motivation sure is easy to get, but sooo damn hard to hold on to. It’s just been  sucky overall. I don’t know a better adjective to describe the way I feel.

Last night, I decided to make something to comfort me and the kids, from the inside out. The only thing that came to mind was HOT CHOCOLATE. I make the best hot chocolate in the world, if I do say so myself. 😀 Normally, I hold back and just make it good, because I don’t want them to keep asking me to make it all the time. This time however, I went all out. I used rich full cream milk, a combination of two different chocolate mixes, nutmeg and whipped cream to top it off. My hot chocolate is sooo good, I think it rivals Toronto’s Second Cup hot chocolate , which, used to be my favourite, until I discovered how to make it just as good, then better.  😀

We all had milkstaches when we were done and all felt a little happier from the inside out.

Rest in Peace Teacher Isaac. We all love and miss you very much. 😦

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Warm Pick me up….

  1. bajanpoet says:

    I’m sorry about your daughter’s teacher … my condolences 😥

    Ok, now I want to taste your hot chocolate… I’m coming over!

    • bak2moi says:

      Thank you so much. She has never experienced someone that close to her passing, so it was and still is hard for her. All of the students as a matter of fact. …Time will take care of them, and they will always have the memories.

      My hot chocolate is DA BOMB! 🙂 When you in my neighbourhood, link me,..you gonna be hooked..lol

Leave a Reply

