The Food Network in Me…

It’s no secret that I hate cooking. At least, I don’t think it’s a secret. I am quite capable of whipping up some pretty cool dishes sometimes, but the cooking part of my woman gene, never fully developed. I have sporadic moments, when I’m excited about trying something new in the kitchen, or that June Clever body invasion gets popping, but if I am going to be honest, I’d rather make my family cornflakes every day for dinner, instead of preparing a proper meal. The funny thing is, the kids would love to have warm cornflakes for breakfast, lunch and dinner everyday 😀 , but because I am a good mommy, I don’t oblige. 😀

Yesterday, I didn’t really feel like cooking, but I am very aware of how quickly one can be separated from all of their money, just buy doing the take out thing. I resisted the urge to buy them a cheese pizza and side stepped that look that a husband can give, when he wonders ‘why the hell did I marry this lazy bitch.” lol 😀

I cooked, but I did it lazy people style.  I learned a cool trick on the Food Network though.  It doesn’t matter how crappy the dish is sometimes, you still get points for presentation. So, I tried to make their plates look pretty with a little bit of cabbage flair. And you know what? ‘E min taste good too’.

I made brown sugar gravy (from scratch) , none a that pre-mixed shit. Spaghetti, fried plantain and fried chicken for the kids. I can’t give ingredient amounts, because I eye-ball everything, but boy did my gravy turn out awesome. I sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on top, just to finish it off, after I shared the plates. Peep the awesomeness of my cooking.

original sauce inspiration...

close up of sauce preparation

Thick Brown Sugar Sauce

Scrumptious drummettes

Daughter's Plate

Daddy's Plate

Son's Plate..He was not going to have that presentation ish. 😀

Bon Appeti’t

(Julia Child voice)

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Food Network in Me…

  1. Pingback: food-network.us » Blog Archive » The Food Network in Me… | Bak2moi's Blog

Leave a Reply

