Love…. A Poem I wrote for my brother’s Wedding

I don’t think that I like love.

Let me think about that again for a second..

No. I don’t like love!

It may be the most over used  word in any language.

The descriptive go to declaration for every situation, occasion

Inanimate object or person within our central…

I love this,

I love that,

I love it,

I love them,

I love him,

I love her,

I love you…

But So what?!

Isn’t it in the name of love that we lie,

To save ourselves, to hide our wrong doings,

To protect other’s feelings against our transgressions,

So that they don’t leave us?!

Isn’t it in the name of love, that we do the most unspeakable things,

To get what we want,

Regardless of the casualties along the way?!

Wasn’t it love that left the shredded pieces of our previously broken hearts in a trail,

That eventually guided us together?!

I don’t like love.

I don’t think I understand it at all.

I don’t think that it is something any of us ever will.

This love thing,

That sometimes make the sane insane,

The smart, dumb,

The strong, weak,

The rich poor,

And the living wish for dead.

Don’t promise me love,.

I mean it’s nice, but we need more..

Today, promise me something else.

Promise me trust.

Trust that I can put my faith you,

Not in vain like a fool,

But to the point where I know my life is safe in your hands,

Without me ever thinking twice, that you would ever let me falter.

Promise me patience

Patience that when you’re frustrated beyond a scope you can’t articulate,

That you can take my hand and look into my face and say,

I’ll wait for you,  I understand, I’ll wait for you…

Promise me respect.

Respect, that even when you think that my wrong is so far away from your right,

That you will reason with me and see my point of view and not take me for a fool,

Then promise me strength.

Strength that when it’s all falling apart,

Somehow you can see beyond the rubble, and help me pick up the pieces of our lives, 

So we can put it all back together, together.

But you know what’s funny?

In the presence of all of these things,

I see love dare rare its ugly head, seeping into our midst,

Playing the melody for a tune I don’t like,

And I don’t want to sing along to,

But just can’t get out of my head….

Love, I don’t think I like love,

But it is what has lead us here to this very moment,

Not the end of a journey,

But just the Beginning.

Love,..I don’t think I like love,

But I love you,….

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love…. A Poem I wrote for my brother’s Wedding

  1. bajanpoet says:

    YES!

    *thunderous applause*

    *wild cheering*

    Wooohooo!

    I soooooooooooooooo LOVE this! *hehehe*

    This is EXCELLENT 😀 Bravo!

    *fade to black as accolades are constant and infinite….*

Leave a Reply

