Cleaning House…..

This is NOT My House!

I am the anti-hoarder. I am that semi-cold, non sentimental chick, that has no hesitation when throwing things out. I feel that a good portion of my  life, was about learning to let go of stuff that I didn’t really want to let go of. Sometimes we are forced to though, when things or people are either pried away from us, or they voluntarily leave. What I did learn however, was that in getting rid of certain elements in our lives, we create space to bring in the  bigger, better, newer, nicer and sweeter.

I’ve talked about my obsession with the show Hoarders on A & E and the only way I can describe it,  is that it’s like looking at a bad traffic accident, or a horrible gory picture or movie, that you find extremely disturbing, yet you just cannot turn away. It’s absolutely riveting. To see people living in filth, piles and piles of stuff, sometimes to their roof, breathing in a stench, that smells probably worse than a goat pen daily, is just mind-boggling to me. ‘Experts’ and I use that term loosely, come in and talk about their disease or sickness, as I’ve heard their condition called.

(I must interject the use of the word disease in these cases irritate the dog piss outta me, because I have no idea how you call a  situation like people living in filth and a complete state of chaos, the same word, as a person suffering from an ailment for example cancer, or heart disease or aids…. those are disease or sicknesses.) But I digress…

These folks are coddled and prodded and psycho-analyzed to find out what went wrong in their lives, why they don’t want to throw away ANYTHING AT ALL, leaving their lives to turn into a literal garbage dump. It got me to thinking today, maybe I need to be psycho-analyzed myself, though for reasons at the opposite end of the hoarding spectrum.   I have sporadic moments, when I feel so unbelievably overwhelmed, that I can’t talk to anyone. I can’t function, I can’t write, I can’t read. The only thing that makes me feel better, is when I clean house and throw shit out.

Today I was like June Clever on steroids.

+

My husband went to work today, so it was perfect, because I didn’t have to deal with the “Are you ok?” questions or “Why you giving yourself all this work to do?”, or “Do you really have to do this today?”. Where in turn I would say “F*^k off! Leave me alone.” like Freddie Kreuger. lol 😀

Just kidding.

I wouldn’t say that. ( innocent face insert here).That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Truth be told I didn’t realize I was feeling that pressed, until I started to clean, then I started moving furniture, then I  emptied cabinets, then I looked for every possible expired can or bottle of anything in my medicine and kitchen cabinets to free myself of, then I went into my closet and tossed out a bunch of shoes and put them in a bag to take to the Salvation Army, then I did the same in my daughter’s closet. It was then on to paper work and receipts that were older than five years, on top of doing the laundry and scrubbing both bathrooms and dealing with the kids.

When my husband came home from work, he immediately noticed the difference. All he could do, was look at me and shake his head and smile. He didn’t ask me any questions. All I said to him was,

“Here is a bag of all the crap that you have thrown about the house, that have been getting on my nerves. Sort through it now, or I’m tossing it all out.”

He got to it right away. 😀

I am not going to paint a picture of me being a hard ass, who doesn’t care about certain things and appreciate their sentimental value, because, I do care. I still have a receipt in my wallet from almost 10 years ago, when my husband and I went to a hotel and stayed the night for the first time. I still have things for the children from when they were babies, that I would never toss or give away. Each child has one small box used for keep-sake items, for us to go through when they are older. Everything else is either given away or tossed. I have no desire to keep them.

If I am the anti-hoarder, what is the cause for my ‘sickness’? Why do I like to throw stuff out? What does that mean? Do I have daddy issues? lol,..who knows why people are the way they are and do what they do. How clean is your house? And I don’t mean that literally.

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cleaning House…..

  1. Floree says:

    interesting analysis, makes me wonder why i am messy….food for thought

  2. Denese says:

    Girl, cleaning is just cathatic. I know the kind of cleaning you are talking about, Michael says he will have to nail his s**t to the wall because those are the only things I seem not to throw out. lol
    I feel ya!!!!!

  3. Tameka says:

    lol…my husband ‘fraid me see.lol..When he see me getting ready to clean, he specifically pin point what not to touch. I listen sometimes..lolol 😀

Leave a Reply

