Maid of Honour

I am the exact opposite of the chick in 27 Dresses. Remember the movie about the woman, who would never say no to being a bride’s maid or maid of honour, no matter what? Her ‘No’ saying skills were so horrible, that she ended up being maid of honour at two weddings on the exact same night, happening at the same time. She was literally back and forth between events, switching dresses in a taxi cab, en-route to and from functions. I don’t hate weddings or anything ‘bah humbuggy’ like that, I just find some of them to be a bit outrageous and somewhat of a spectacle and  funnily enough, a little stressful for the guests, when they are quite large. Also, I can’t re-call ever getting the ‘Oh my, I long to be in a wedding’, feeling. Truth be told I could do without it.

I really did like that movie a lot, but her character was quite annoying. I also learned something during this movie. Brides are bitches. 😀 lol Apparently, brides pick out the ugliest possible dresses for their bride’s maids and maids of honour to wear, so that they can look and feel better about themselves on their big day. I was not aware that these were the sorts of shenanigans going on when planning one’s wedding party wardrobe. I remember being a flower girl quite a few times, between the ages of 4 and about 8. After that I didn’t participate in any more weddings until I was about fourteen years old, when my uncle got married. I was a bride’s maid.

Peep the awesomeness of my peach matchy matchy shoe, frock, glove and hair piece ensemble.

Wow...Just Wow lolol

I thought I looked pretty cute too. 😀

I didn’t participate in another wedding, until I got married 6 years ago. My wedding was small, (about 45 people total). There were no bride’s maids, maid of honour, grooms men, ‘none a that ish’. Planning a wedding is stressful and I had no desire to give myself unnecessary stresses, especially on a day that was supposed to be magical and special and joyful and all those adjectives that people like to throw out, when they talk about weddings.  I wasn’t about to have something where rehearsals were going to be necessary to co-ordinate a walk ,or make sure everybody was on board with what they would have to wear and all the stuff that seems to suck the joy out of the actual event. God knows that marriage itself can be tough, why make what’s supposed to be the easiest part, tough as well.

Peep some of the awesomeness of my wedding. 😀

I’ve been to about 3 weddings since I’ve gotten married, but have not participated in any, until….well… the next one that I’ll be going to. My little baby brother, 😀 (lol) is getting married. That was so weird to type, think, whatever… I cannot believe it. He is also having a small wedding and I was asked by his lovely fiance’ to be her maid of honour. It will be my first time ever being a maid of honour. I was really very honoured that she asked me, and I happily accepted.

My brother and I a million years ago

His wedding is going to be a bit unconventional, because he will be doing it on our local morning TV Show called ‘Good Morning Antigua & Barbuda’ at a beautiful  hotel called Non-Such Bay Resorts. Getting married on a tv show is very interesting , because the cameras are not only going to be there for the ceremony, but for some of the activities that happen prior to the big day as well. One of these activities includes picking out the outfits for the bride and the maid of honour. My future sister-in-law and I were quite nervous about the whole on camera thing, but you know what? It wasn’t so bad.

We went to Diamonds Bridal to make our selections.

Small crew on the corner waiting for us.

Even though I HATE shopping, (yes I really do), I  did get into the whole trying on a bunch of pretty dresses thing. It wasn’t as nerve-racking as I thought it would be with the presence of the cameras and we were able to pick out great things. I must add as well, that the bride is fantastic, because she wants me to look as fabulous as she will. She was not trying to force any weird, puke coloured or lumpy dresses on me, so much love to her, for wanting to have an awesomely hot maid of honour. lolol 😀

To keep the mystery,  I can’t show too much of the pictures I took in this post. I have to wait until the show airs on ABS. All I can say is that there were some really nice things to choose from. This was also something new to me, as I did not have to choose between wedding dresses, because I knew exactly what I wanted, but it was only available in my head. For my dress to become a reality, I drew a sketch , took it to my seamstress, an awesome dressmaker and designer named Sharon Barton and she made my dress exactly as I sketched it.

Options

We eventually narrowed it down to a choice between two dresses for me, none of which are shown in the picture above and the bride also has three really stunning dresses to make up her mind about.

I am really happy for my brother, who is marrying a wonderful young woman. Did I mention that her name is Tameka too. lol What can I say? I am just such a fabulously, awesome sister, that he had to get another Tameka in his life.

I think the wedding special will start airing on February 1st, so look out for it on  the ‘Good Morning Antigua & Barbuda’ Morning Show. 😀

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Maid of Honour

  1. bajanpoet says:

    That was an awesome post. I loved the photo with the three of you looking out towards the sun … that was a picture I would frame!

    I wish I could see the wedding on TV here in Barbados …. sounds so cool!

    And tell your bro congrats 🙂

    • bak2moi says:

      I’m hoping to get the video footage so I can post it here. If I do, you will definitely get to see it. 😀 I’m not much of a wedding person, but I’m really excited for him. Thank you.

  2. Sam says:

    I really liked that movie as well (I’m a chic flick junkie lol). Your wedding was beautiful and simple!!! Love it!

    Cheers
    Sam

  3. bak2moi says:

    Thank you Sam. 😀

Leave a Reply

