The only Sparkle I ever really loved…

One of my favourite movies is being remade and my first thought is..“They Betta not F#^k it up.!”

Now, the original ‘Sparkle’ came out before I was even born, but the story resonates no matter what decade you were born in. Single mother raising three daughters, all beautiful, one especially so,(the light skinned one) lol. 😀 talented and poor. They were trying to make it as singers, got caught up in the hoopla of show business, fornication, disobedience, tragedy, death, everything.  The original cast was, Philip Michael Thomas … Stix. Irene Cara … Sparkle. Lonette McKee … Sister. Dwan Smith … Delores. Mary Alice … Effie. There wasn’t anything I didn’t love about this movie. It had it all.

Many years ago, there were talks about remaking it for Aaliyah, the ONLY artist I have ever been a ‘fan’ of. I hate the word ‘fan’, but it is actually quite appropriate in this context. I love all genres of music, and there are quite a few artists I would love to break bread with, but I could never see myself going batshit crazy over any of them, except Aaliyah. lol ..Aaliyah’s album was the first album I ever bought..on cassette tape “Age Ain’t Nothing But A Number” when I was 15 years old. I used to dress like her, wear them damn fisherman hats, ridiculously baggy pants, men’s boxer shorts, lol , I was like, in love with this chick. So much to the point, my mother was seriously concerned.  I grew out of that phase, but I always adored  her and still do.

But I digress. After Aaliyah passed away, they shelved the idea. I think that Aaliyah would have nailed the part of ‘Sister’, but sadly now I’ll never know. The remake will star Jordin Sparks as Sparkle, while Carmen Ejogo and Tika Sumpter have signed on to play her sisters, Sister and Dolores respectively. Whitney Houston has been confirmed for the role of their mother.

This is bitter sweet for me and I am curious to see where they take it. The music in the original movie was incredible, but I understand that R.Kelly will be writing original music for this one, so I am comforted. Say what you want, he may piss on women, but you can’t deny the man’s talent. 😀

“They Betta not F#^k it up.!”

Peep some scenes from the original “Sparkle”

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The only Sparkle I ever really loved…

  1. Floree Williams says:

    For the record i was also quite obsessed with Ms Aaliyah *shame face*

Leave a Reply

