Hot cup a Bush Tea and Fry Fungi….

The Christmas holidays usually bring out the best foods out of the food vault. I didn’t do much cooking, but I sure did some good eating. Between my mom, and my husband’s aunts, we were very well fed.

Yesterday, he went to two different auntie’s homes, and got two different sets of food to bring home. He walked into the house and plopped down two plastic shopping bags with containers of food on our kitchen counter and I grinned from ear to ear. I began to unpack the food and then came across some spongy feeling foil wrapped thingamajig. I asked what the hell it was, to which he replied fungi. (pronounced foon- gee)

I am not a fan of fungi. I never have been, so I rolled my eyes at them, then my husband said,

“We gonna have them for breakfast.”

His intention was for us  to have them with the red herring he also brought home from one of his aunts. I’m not a big fan of red herring either. Anyhow, he swore I was going to love it.

So, this morning he goes into the kitchen and starts making breakfast. Surprisingly, it smells really good. I’m sitting in the living room watching tv and he brings me something to taste. It tasted fantastic. It was the fungi, but fried.

This is what fungi normally looks like.

Hubby cuts the fungi in slices, seasoned them and fried them in vegetable oil. This is  what they looked like after they were fried.

Fried fungi pattie

He then packed the slices like a sandwich, with the red herring, tomatoes, lettuce and cucumber. It was absolutely fantastic.

From a now former fungi hater, this recipe is highly recommended. My husband and I have been together for almost 10 years and this was the first time I decided to try it. I don’t remember him fancying up the fried fungi before, like he did today. I also have no idea why I let my guard down and decided to give this version of fungi a try, but I am sure glad that I did.

*On a side note*

I am still not that big a fan of red herring and I am still tasting it when I burp 10 hours later, so I suggest using ling fish or salt fish instead, when you try this recipe.

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

