A Time for Reflection

The last few weeks have just been so busy, that I felt as if I was losing my mind a little. There were moments when it seemed like there wasn’t enough time in the day, and then there were days that flew by so quickly, it seemed like there wasn’t any time at all. Now here we are again, basically the last few minutes before we say goodbye to 2011.

A lot of reflection is probably being done right now by the masses. I know right now, I am going over the personal resolutions I made and kept to myself and am mentally either putting a check mark next to a hope or dream I was able to accomplish, or kicking myself for a missed opportunity or unfulfilled goal. According to my computer clock, I have approximately 1 hour to wallow in self pity and to feel sad about my un accomplished goals, before 2011 is no more. I don’t have to make a ‘new’ list per say, but I will transfer all of the items without a check mark to the ‘to be continued list’ for 2012.  I am fortunate to know exactly what I want, and I really don’t see the need to add anything new to my list. I know I just have to stay focused, so that I can complete the life tasks that I’ve assigned to myself. Truth be told, its not a long list at all, but the tasks are not necessarily easy, so I do have some serious work cut out for me.

To me, a new year means a new birthday, a fresh start, a door into the future and hopefully forsaking all of the hurt, pain and disappointments we’ve encountered, leaving them in the past where they belong, but remembering what allowed those things to occur in the first place and us hopefully learning our lessons, never repeating the same mistakes and becoming better people for having had the misfortunes.

I’m sure right now a lot of people are either partying, or getting ready to go to a party and meet up with friends and loved ones to bring in the new year together. This is wonderful, but for me,  for whatever reason, I prefer to just kind of sit back and be quiet. Fortunately, my husband has always been on the same page with me, in regards to our celebratory practices, as he also prefers the more laid back approach to the whole new years celebration thing. I’ll go about my business at home like I am accustomed to, but when the countdown nears, we’ll cheers to a bottle of sparkling apple cider, as I am not a drinker and wish each other a happy new year. Sounds kinda boring now I’m typing it, :-D, but it works for me.

Others may inspire us, information feeds us, practice improves our performances, but we need quiet time to figure things out, to emerge with new discoveries and to unearth original answers. However, time like life itself, has no inherent meaning. We give our own meaning to time, as to life. I read that somewhere a long time ago.

I am just in awe at how quickly time flies though, because it feels as if it was just new years the other day and we were all excited about 2011, and now its out with the old and in with the new. Now 2011 has become the old year and drunk singers are singing “Auld Lang Syne” whatever the hell that means. In the blink of an eye, it went from yes, its  a brand new year with lots to accomplish, but lots of time to get it done, to, where the hell did 2011 go? There is never enough time, and time won’t give me time. I think Boy George said that. 😀

Time is like a beautiful elusive lover, who treated you kindly and brought out the passion inside of you, making you feel things you never thought you could ever feel, then abandoned you with your memories of once fulfilled desires, after they’d gotten over you. You always want that moment back, but they have already moved on to another,never to return.

When time is never ready to wait for us, then why should we always wait for the right time? Use your time in 2012 wisely and have a

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

