Me a chi play ketch-up…

I’ve been meaning to post for the past few days, but time has not been on my side. Not that it ever really is, but I am usually able to stick a post in somewhere when I want to, regardless of how busy I am. I have the final part of my “The Key” series to post, I also have to put an update about the ‘Expressions Poetry’ night, when my short film showed, and I have to talk about the “Pop-Up-Boutique ” shopping experience, which happened a few days ago. These past few weeks however, I could hardly find five minutes to tend to my wants.

My regular Clarke Kent job is at a shipping company, and working for a shipping company during Christmas time, is like working at the ONLY hardware store, when a hurricane warning has been issued. I have work up to my eyeballs and it is not fun. My phone rings soo much during the day, that I want to rip it from the wall and do a Mexican hat dance on it. I have been coming home late from work almost everyday and after I settle in at home, I don’t get to lay down and cuddle anything. It’s right back on to my home computer, to do my 2nd Clark Kent job which is drafting. I am desperately trying to finish this job, because 1. I need the money, 2. I need sleep and c. I need my me time back, so that I can do my super girl job, which is the writing of stories and books and poems. Maybe I should just wear my supergirl costume all the time, because I would be faster than a speeding bullet and be able to destroy the evil customers with my icy stare, but wouldn’t I just look ridiculous sitting at work dressed like this?

This time of year is not my favourite. As a matter of fact, if I re-call correctly, one of my introductory blog posts last year, was about christmas, and I called it “‘Tis the Effin’ Season”. You can gather my general feelings about christmas, just from that blog title alone. 😀

Now I am not a scrooge or anything like that, (at least not really I think), but there is soo much pressure to spend excessively, which comes with this particular holiday, that my only way to truly combat it, is to avoid it. I’ve never put up a christmas tree, or lights, I don’t play christmas music, (I find it very irritating) and I don’t over cook.

For the sake of the kids, I take them into the city so they can experience the hustle and bustle and happy energy of people going broke by purchasing things they truly do not need. Also, just being out of the house wandering around somewhat haphazardly, seems to be fun for  them, so even though I detest the crowds, I grin and bear it just for them. I let them have one thing they really want, (even if I hate it), to go along with any other present their father and I will purchase and wrap for them, so that they can enjoy ripping stuff open on christmas morning. The kids seem to really have fun the scaled back way we do things in our household, so as they say, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. I don’t see a tree or lights anytime soon in our bare minimum family christmas traditions, but as long as they’re cool  with it, it doesn’t bother me.

Now we got home about 2 hours ago and we’re all tired, but I figured that I should try to play ketch-Up ( catch up) and fill in some blog blanks. Though I’m tried, I feel good, cause the kids are happy. We got them some cool stuff, so right now, mommy and daddy are the bestest in the world.

We went in to Best of Books and I got my daughter 2 big girl books, my son an activity book so that he can practice memorizing his colours and numbers and so forth and I bought myself a lovely gift. I can’t wait to just lay in my bed tomorrow in the quiet cool of the day and read it.

I know this is gonna be good. This man never disappoints me.

After Best of Books, we roamed the streets of St.John’s, and patronized one of the street vendors by buying a big jumbo airplane that makes a  noise like it’s about to take off. It spins and lights up and moves all over. It’s actually pretty awesome. He is in love with airplanes, so if he didn’t get another thing, he would have still been happy. After that, we braved more tight crowds, loud obnoxious music and dee-jays and even rain, to get to Shoul’s Toys and Gifts, so that my daughter could get the hoola hoop she’d been begging me for, for months. I even bought one for myself. She’s already challenged me to a hoola hooping contest, which I gladly accepted. I’m gonna kick her little butt. 😀 Hey I wanna win too.

For the most part, there isn’t too much excessive spending, because not only is the mortgage there to be taken care of, but there’s the car payment, and the upcoming term’s tuition to be paid for both kids and new uniform shirts and so on, so, were in it deep when it comes to responsibility. We try to be wise and practical and take care of our needs, but we definitely try to make the kids feel special, even if we don’t put up a tree or lights.

I may hate the idea of putting up a tree, because it seems like soo much work to put it up, then decorate it, then to un-decorate it, then take it back down,then put it in storage, but I can put up a hassle free, pretty, virtual christmas tree, that is just as beautiful as any tree I’ve seen, without any of the work.

Seasons Greeting to all and I hope everyone has a Merry Christmas.

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

