Film Festival Fashion…Try sayin that three times fast…

Last night I stepped outside my comfort zone and got all gussied up to go to the Film Festival Gala Event, however, It was an interesting night before I even got there. The thing is, I did not know for sure until the very last minute if I was going to be able to attend, so I was running around like a chicken with it’s head cut off, trying to find something worthy of the occasion. I eventually found a dress that I kinda fell in love with. Simple without any fuss, kinda flowy, and felt amazing rubbing up against my skin. I had quite a bit of general errands to run, still had to do the kids after school pick up and I was worried about how the night was going to turn out, because my husband had reminded me the day before when I told him about the event, that he was going to the big football match between Antigua and Haiti. I was like Ooohhh SHEEEET!!  I know dat fool didn’t think I was going to remember about a football match mentioned to me weeks prior. In any case, there was no way in hell he was going to miss it. So he decided he was going to get a ride to go, I could keep the jeep and drive out to the gala by myself.

(Let me take a moment to say, that I don’t think I’ve ever used the word gala in my life. It’s such a wierd word.)

Anywho….

 I was really disappointed he wasn’t going to come with me. I was even giving him attitude before he left the house to go watch the match, leaving me with  Bebe’s bickering kids. How the hell was I going to get ready in time, look cute, deal with the kids and drop them off at my mom’s in time to make it out there? I had only an hour and a half, so I knew I was going to be late. Cry two tears in a bucket,…………. I was  really frustrated and began to contemplate if I should even attend the function at all. I decided to just go with the flow and I would do the things I had to do and let the time I was done, dictate what I ultimately would do. While tidying up the kitchen, I took my son’s school bag from off of the stool where he left it and took it into his bedroom and that was when I saw it. My husband had already taken out and ironed one of his nice linen ensembles and had it hanging on the curtain rod in our son’s room. I smiled. He intended to come, which made me feel good that he seemed to make an effort. Feeling kind of bad about our  bickering before he left the house, I called him to ask him what his plans were. Turns out, his intention was to go to the match, then come back home immediately afterwards, change and then come out to the festival gala and meet me. He wasn’t sure how he was going to do it, as I would have had the transport, but he was gonna try. Hearing this little revelation from him had me smiling from ear to ear.

I decided to call a friend and ask her if she was going to attend and her answer was yes. I asked her if it was possible for her to come and pick me up and she said yes.  I then decided that I would leave the vehicle along with his Gala Invite at home, so that when he came home from football, he could change, then drive out and meet me. I felt a flicker of hope. I then called my mom and asked her if she could come pick up the kids instead of me dropping them off, as it would buy me some time. She reluctantly agreed after some begging on my part, because as she said..

“Ya gyal, me jus put orn me nightie!”  😀

She came after a few minutes, (still wearing her nightie) lol 😀 nosied through my house, inspected what I was going to wear and gave her approval, then took the kids. I was now free to get ready sans bickering. I was pretty pleased with my outfit, and about 20 minutes after, my ride came. We all looked cute..lol 😀

The event itself was another story that I am contemplating if I should blog about, however, when my husband came, I was all smiles. He looked so cute. I also realized that our outfits were colour co-ordinated, and we didn’t even try.  He really loved my dress, so ulitmately I felt good about my last minute outfit selection, and we did make an effort to leave the house, which is something we hardly ever do.

Peep the awesomeness of our ensembles.

About 15 minutes after my husband arrived we were both tired and ready to go, but we both looked kinda cute, so we stuck around for a bit longer, (like 5 minutes after we decided that we were tired) and left. I couldn’t wait to take my shoes off.

On the way down, we both realized that we were also starved on top of being tired, so we decided on getting hot bread butter and cheese and bun butter and cheese at our favourite bread shop in Gray’s Farm.

Oh Yeah..Antigua beat Haiti….. 😀

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Film Festival Fashion…Try sayin that three times fast…

  1. Monique says:

    Loving the visuals…..you rock sisterfriend……nuff love. “Kleefer” 🙂

  2. DJ says:

    Cute story, the parts about u and your husband had me chuckling….

  3. TOYA says:

    Check the pope a hold on pon da bumsee
    lol
    looking lovely babe… awesome dress!

  4. Nati says:

    What a grip pon di batty! LoL! Cute story and pic!

Leave a Reply

