I Dream of Para Para Paradise…

Dee-Jay Play me favourite sang….while me talk about my lickle Islan’…..

To this day, I still say, I could never live anywhere but in Antigua for an extended period of time. When I say extended, I don’t mean like a couple of years here and there. I mean moving away indefinitely to find, fix or figure out whatever, without knowing when I could return. That thought seems kind of scary to me. I was perfectly happy  being away at school for a few years, then working for a bit, then just kind of bumming around on different continents, trying to ‘find myself’. Sometimes, being away really does help you to appreciate  what you have. All of those excursions however, had some kind of time limit in my mind. There was always an exit strategy and Antigua was going to be the final destination. Besides, with technology being the way it is today, I can try to fulfill most of my dreams from almost anywhere in the world, and Antigua is just as good a place as any, if not better than most.

I always envisioned securing a prime piece of property on a hill-top somewhere out in the country side, building my dream house and living out my golden years holding my companion’s hand on our massive verandah, basking in the sunset glow, while we watch our children grow up, branch off and have children of their own. To me, Antigua was and is paradise. I did fall in love with Jamaica quite a bit, and could see myself living there for a few years, but like King Obsti Say..”I’ll always come back to you… Antigua.”

I’m not much of a partier per say. I do like to ‘shake my ass’ (Mystikal Voice), every now and again, but true enjoyment for me, is really just exploring Antigua, taking scenic drives, messing around with my digital camera, ( me feel me a photographer sometimes) 😀 and capturing how truly blessed I am to call this little island my home. I’d stop for a bit at some one of our fabulous eateries, and have a plate of food that look like this

 for $20.00 EC and then keep it moving.

In my best Vybez Kartel Voice “Nananananana Life Sweet.”

Of course, Antigua has its faults, and politicians try their darndest to f*^k it up for everybody, but, I’d like to think of government like a bad boyfriend in an abusive relationship. Eventually the abused will wise up, kick his ass to the curb, find a sexy new lover that looks like Michael Ealy or Idris Elba, move on to greener pastures and never look back. 

Happy Birthday / Independence Antigua. I don’t tell you enough, but I love you. 

Take a look at how beautiful Antigua is. This is what we the fortunate ones ignore most days. Enjoy my photography,…hopefully I will make Sabriya proud.:-D

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Dream of Para Para Paradise…

  1. Joanne says:

    I come to your blog and swear sometimes it’s like you’ve been sifting through my mind coming at an issue that’s been buggng me with amazing clarity of thought. This is one of those instances.

    • bak2moi says:

      :-D…I have great admiration for your mind..lol so the thought of me being able to get in there sometimes gives me hope to be more like you…
      Truthfully speaking though, I may not come off as the most patriotic person, but I love Antigua. Though I like to leave her every now and again,…I am always excited to come back. My roots are here,..but I feel as if I can branch off anywhere.

Leave a Reply

