I Heart Vintage…

I am very much a jeans and t-shirt kinda girl. If I could wear that everyday, I would. Well I could, as there is no law that says I cannot, but as a female, we don’t have the same luxuries as men when it comes to getting ready to leave the comfort zones of our homes. I always put in the effort to try and create a nice lil ensemble, but sometimes it can be a downright pain in my ass. I still try though.  I think I usually get it right, but when it comes to fashion I think my two most stylish friends are Salma and Toya. I’ve learned a lot from them both.

Last week while I was stumbling through my days with what felt like the weight of the world on my shoulders, I was cleaning out my closet and simultaneously trying to find something to wear to work the following day. Then I came across an item of clothing, that has always managed to bring a smile to my face. It is this super pretty plaid skirt that is about 50 years old. I kid you not.

This skirt either belonged to my late grandmother or one of her sisters. When my mother was a teenager she found it in a trunk. I think she told me that she was going to cut it up and make something out of it, but couldn’t bring herself to doing so in the end, because she liked it too much. Many years later, I found this skirt when I was 14 years old in a barrel, with other ancient artifacts and they all smelled like moth balls  and un circulated air. I found feather boas, silk nighties, really funky shoes and all those clothes caused me to think about my mother and grandmother in a completely different light. They had some sexy taste.

I’ve had this skirt for *cough*ter something years 😀 and I could never get rid of it. It’s just stood the test of time. It never wrinkles, it never looks washed out. Unfortunately, I can’t say exactly what material it is, because the tag with the information has not stood the test of time in this 50 year old skirt. Fortunately, my waist has held up over the years, so I can still wear it. It has now become this unintentional heirloom and I will pass it on to my daughter in about six years, when she turns 14.

I took a couple pictures of myself that day, to show the awesomeness of my 50 year old skirt.

 

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

