Coke Head….

According to some independent studies, (don’t ask me where they were conducted, or anything about them for that matter, ’cause I don’t have too much information on them other than their findings ) black people are genetically pre-disposed to liking chicken and I am inclined to believe that. Before anyone disputes, please think about KFC and Roscoe Chicken and Waffles and Popeyes, then immediately sit the hell down.  😀

When one is genetically pre-disposed to liking or doing something, it just simply means, said subject cannot help their attraction to, or liking for, whatever the object is of their affection. For example, Tiger woods is genetically pre-disposed to liking loose white women, or, black basketball players are genetically pre-disposed to liking fair-skinned women or white women, or women of a short stature, who look like slightly post-pubescent adolescents next to them, making them look like pedophiles, good girls are genetically pre-disposed to liking guys that treat them like shit, or Kim Kardashian is genetically pre-disposed to liking black guys or television/video cameras, rich old white women from the US or Europe, are genetically pre-disposed to liking scruffy black island men with big penises, or fat kids are genetically pre-disposed to liking cake, flies genetically pre-disposed to liking shit, and so on and so on. Whatever the case is , we all have our weaknesses. If we search long enough and dig deep enough, we may come to discover, that we truly cannot help some of the decisions we make, because it’s in our DNA. I know I’m full of shit..lol don’t judge me! 😀

Now when thinking about genetic pre-disposition, I started thinking about addiction. Can someone be genetically pre-disposed to become an addict or have an addictive personality? What is addiction really? Generally speaking, there are two kinds of addictions, namely, substance addictions and process addictions. Substance addictions include smoking, drug abuse and alcoholism whereas process addictions include gambling, shopping, sex, eating, habitual occurrences, that give some kind of a rush or high when being conducted or performed.

Now, I prided myself in living a certain way and not doing certain things. I wanna be a good girl. I don’t drink alcohol, I don’t smoke cigarettes and I don’t have sex with random people..lol (Jerry Seinfeld voice) “Not that there’s anything wrong with that!” On top of that, I have a marginally controlling personality, so I don’t like to participate in activities, or partake of substances that may render me incoherent or incapacitated in any way. I try to be on top of my shit and keep myself in check. I want to be in control and addiction and vice free, but somewhere during the course of my life, I was able to pick up an incredibly bad habit and I HAVE NO IDEA how I’m going to kick it.

My relationship with  Coca-Cola started from about the age of 10. I started off on smaller, more light weight soft drinks, like punch soda, orange fanta and cream soda, but from the moment I first let that black cold smooth fluid slip down the cavern of my oesophagus, I was hooked.

I am not unsympathetic to drug addiction, but maybe I am not as sympathetic as I should have been. Who feels it knows it. Whatever your addiction is, however insignificant or well-recognized it may be, the toll it usually takes on the individual is unmistakable. I am aware that I drink coke probably 5-10 times more than the average person, but I still didn’t see a genuine problem, because, it never prevented me from functioning. I never had any health issues, (that I was aware of) and it tasted sooooo damn good. How could it be a problem? Then about a few weeks ago, I noticed I started getting very defensive about my coke habit. When people came into my office, they  would notice the ice-cold, sweaty can ,that rested in all its beautiful red shiny glory, right next to my desk phone and they would comment saying things like,

“Another Coke Tameka?”, or “Do you drink one everyday?” “Do you know how bad that is for you?”

I would always smile my bright Cheshire cat smile, but inside I’m thinking,

“Mind ya damn business!”, or “How does me drinking coke affect you?”, “Are you supporting my habit?”

I was very angry. These people were just concerned, but all I wanted to do was smoosh my empty coke can hard on their foreheads. Extreme unnecessary anger, I know. So I decided to do what I always do when I have questions. I googled like a dog bitch in heat. How bad is coke for me really?

Some of the ‘coke is bad for you’ talk seems to be a bit like an urban legend, like Bigfoot…, but here’s what I came up with.

Dental Concerns

  • Coke contains phosphoric acid, which is known to erode tooth enamel. When that protective layer is compromised, teeth are vulnerable to decay.

Bone Issues

  • Cola consumption is linked to lower bone density in women, according to a September 2006 issue of the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition. The phosphorus in Coke binds with calcium and prevents it from being absorbed by bones.

Weight Gain

  • One 12 ounce can of Coke contains 39 grams of sugar and 140 calories, so drinking it regularly can contribute to obesity.

Kidney Complications

  • Drinking two or more colas per day can cause kidney stones to form, which can lead to kidney damage, according to a study whose findings were published in the July 2007 issue of the journal Epidemeology.

Ok, so coke is not good. I can’t say that I was too shocked, but now with the black and whites staring me directly in the face, I was now forced to seriously think about how much I do consume coke.

 
I’ve now come to a crossroads and have what may potentially be one of the most difficult decisions I’ve ever had to make. Yes, it is THAT serious. I am making my coca cola intake a big deal and I am going to do what I always do when something in my life isn’t working in my best interest. I cut it off. I’m Tameka. I can do this shit, I am able to leap tall buildings in a single bound. Shit! No wait!,..that’s Superman, but I can do shit too. I can quit. Why am I already feeling the shakes coming on, just at the thought of not being able to partake of a coca cola?
 
How the hell am I gonna do this? I may be genetically pre-disposed to liking coke, so therefore I cannot help it. But whatever! Pre-disposed or not, I don’t like the idea of feeling like something is in control of me, rather than me being in control of it, so I’ve started the Coca-Cola Challenge.
 
Qutting cold turkey is not an option. I am going to have to slowly ween myself off of it. Withdrawal from certain drugs can be fatal and therefore the abrupt discontinuation of any type of drug is not recommended. I read that somewhere, which means I am medically required to have a coke tomorrow, but just one can. 😀
 
The official plan now, is to have one every other day, then one 3 times a week, then once a week, then twice a month, then maybe once a month.
 
God help me!
About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

