Mango Outta ya Nenen……

I’m loving this time of year. Not because it’s pre-summer/ summer or anything like that, because as an adult who lives in the West Indies, summer doesn’t mean anything unless your under the age of 21 or a teacher. 😀 My main reason for embracing this time of the season is MANGOES. ( I think they deserved to be in capitalized letters.) Every where I go now, I see street vendors with buckets, baths, pick-up backs and trunks, filled with mangoes and I just can’t get enough. I literally eat MANGOES until I get sick, and I don’t mean sick of them, I mean physically ill.  I will fight my own children for them, I hide them away and wait until they fall asleep to eat them, so I won’t have to share. 😀 I know I’m horrible.

I admit I have a problem. A $5.00 plastic bag is not even close to sufficient to satisfy my mango libido. I have to have them hard and consistent, so when I buy mangoes it looks like this.

Mango is not necessarily a bad food to have a problem with, though too much of  anything is never good. I did some research and I discovered mangoes are pretty good for you.

1)    Mangoes are rich in vitamin A, which helps in maintaining good eye health.

2)    Many of the properties found in mangoes including vitamin C are known to reduce your risk of gastrointestinal cancers.

3)    Mangoes are rich in iron, which is beneficial to persons with anemia.

4)     The vitamin E found in mangoes is said to improve one’s sex drive as well as regulate sex hormones.

*That last point is however questionable, because as per my experience, the vitamins found in mangoes induce the ‘ITIS’ hormone, which causes one to shit due to severe belly cramps and then pass out from niggeritis* 😀

When ever my belly reaches to this point, , I ease off of the mangoes for a minute, and start thinking of other ways to enjoy my favourite fruit. I tried two mango recipes over the last two weeks. One was mango fritters and the other was a mango sauce, aka (mango gravy).

My mango fritters came out pretty nice. Actually it was mango and banana fritters. Some of the Mangoes had gotten a little soft, so I preferred to use them for the fritters. I cut the flesh off the seeds and added it to some bananas that had also gotten too soft to be enjoyable as they were. I then used a potato masher and mushed them up together. I added enough flour to thicken up the mixture, so it wouldn’t be runny in the frying pan. I then added a 1/2 teaspoon of brown sugar, a splash of vanilla essence and a dash of cinnamon. 1/2 a teaspoon of baking powder can be added, if you want the fritters to be uber fluffy, but they’ll turn out just fine without it.  I mixed that up in a bowl, then it was ready to be fried. You can make the fritters as big or as small as you would like, though making them too big, can cause the inside not to cook properly, even though the outside will look perfect.

The next recipe I tried was a mango sauce. It tasted pretty good, but my mangoes were not as hard as they should have been, so the sauce looked a bit more like vomit than I’d have liked. This is what it should have looked like.

If I can keep my self-control and not devour the hard mangoes as soon as I purchase them, I will be able to conquer the recipe, in terms of how it should be presentation wise. At least, I got the taste part down. I will post a picture of my next attempt into making the mango sauce.

Happy Mango Season.

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mango Outta ya Nenen……

  1. momtuition says:

    I know this feeling too well. For the past 2 weeks I’ve been eating mangoes for at least 2 meals out of the day. I’ve had mango smoothies, mango and grilled chicken, mango salad, just mango (LOL). I’ve even had a few all out mango days, which is mango for breakfast, mango for lunch, mango for dinner and mango if I get up to pee at one in the morning and can’t go back to sleep 🙂 Funnily enough, I didn’t have any out-of-the-ordinary meetings in the oval office 🙂

  2. Denese says:

    You are making me so home sick right now. lol

  3. Nati says:

    Steupse!!!! One big, long dutty steupssssssssssssssse! ROFL
    Me too bex nah! Mine cahlick! ahahhahaha!

Leave a Reply

