All Good Things….

Constant Spring: Last Pic I took with my camera on our last outing.

I was excited to come back to Antigua and hit the ground running. I think what Jamaica did for me was deeper that I had expected. I believe Toya feels the same way. I felt as if a fire was lit inside me and I was ready to stop procrastinating about a lot of things. The vibe in Jamaica is contagious. The people encourage you and make you feel as if all is possible. It was amazing. I missed my family and I was looking forward to seeing them, but I started to miss Jamaica even before I left. The last night of the festivities was bittersweet. It was us saying goodbye to all of the new friends we had grown to care for in a very short week. Bright side however, it was another reason to get dressed up. I am usually in mommy mode, so that week in Jamaica was me really for the first time since I dunno when,  getting to dress up and really be girly. Toya and I were like Jamrock Barbie. lol I put on one of my MUTAMBA dresses.

There was a lot happening when we got there. Awards were being handed out, everybody was in that happy sad phase, hugging and saying goodbye, exchanging contact info and promising to stay in touch. So far all promises to stay in touch have been true. 😀

Up and coming artists were giving out their cds and the other kinds of artists were displaying their craft. Here’s a look at some of the pieces that captivated Toya and I. lol Self explanatory really.

After all was said and done, it was a good night. We were extremely tired, but it was that good kind of tired, where you know when  you put your head down you’d sleep well.

When  we got home, there was packing to be done. We wanted to make sure that everything was in order, so there would be no rushing and last minute craziness.

Toya went to bed before I did. I still needed to tire myself out, so that I could be sleepy for the flight. Eventually I couldn’t keep my eyes open anymore, so I gave in and hit the sack.

Within a few hours, we were saying goodbye to our beloved hotel. We walked down the long corridor feeling a bit melancholy. I was too sad to take pictures. I did whip out my camera in the elevator, to take a goodbye picture of our constant elevator companion Raffe and Cordelia, the constant bright spot at the front desk.

Eric came and got us and our ride to the airport was uneventful. After we said goodbye to Eric and went to check in, things quicklywent from “Winning” not “Not Winning… We were like..WTF!!! ”

We got randomly picked out of line to get our bags searched. Toya blamed me for this, because she said my painted MUTAMBA dress was bright and fabulous, so we stuck out in the line. Next time I’m leaving Jamaica, I’ll be wearing beige and brown. After what felt like forever, we were ushered back to the front of the line to check in, only to be told that our flight was delayed by 4 hours. Again…WTF!! I felt like banging my head in the counter.

 We tried making the best of our situation, quietly wondering what else would go wrong, without discussing it amongst ourselves. We went through the other security checks, then decided we should get something to eat as hunger pangs started to hit. “Hafter di belly dem did full up”, we took to  some last minute airport shopping. On a side note…Jamaica’s airport kicks Antigua’s airport’s ass.

‘Til we meet again, jamaikan me miss ya… 😀

One Luv.

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

