Enjoying New Kingston…..

One of my favourite places in New Kingston is the Devon House mansion. This regal eye-catcher is set back from the main road behind majestic trees, to be admired. It is an outstanding tribute to Jamaican craftsmanship, and stands as a proud symbol of Jamaica’s past, with its own compelling story to be told. In the late 19th century, the corner of Trafalgar and Hope Roads was known as Millionaire’s Corner. There, three of the island’s richest men had built mansions ­The Verley Family’s Abbey Court, Daniel Finzi’s Reka Dom and George Steibel’s Devon House.

To read more on the history of Devon House, check out this link.

http://devonhousejamaica.com/

It is a fun, beautiful, relaxing and even romantic place and I will always return there anytime I travel to Jamaica. Toya and I did a bit of shopping and took in all of its history.

After Devon House, Toya wanted to check out Bridget Sandals. Jamaican shoe designer Bridget Brown started this company 20 years ago and it is still going strong. Bridget sandals are comfortable, pretty, sexy and durable flat shoes. As a matter of fact, that brand is the reason I actually started to like flat shoes. At that point of our trip I was almost broke 😀 ,so I decided to try on and take pictures of the shoes I couldn’t afford to buy. The location of the store is stunning, featuring lots of flora, fauna and singing birds. The decor was pretty nice as well. These are the types of stores I like, because they make shopping feel more like a chilled out and relaxed experience that you want to take your time and enjoy, instead of a grab and go. Kinda like the difference between a quickie and a night of passion…well maybe not, but I’m sure you get what I mean. 😀 The next time I pass through, I will be sure to have my purse full, because I will definitely be copping a pair or two.

My Left Foot 😀

 
 
 
 
 
About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Enjoying New Kingston…..

  1. wadadlipen says:

    Man, I spent so many Sundays at Devon House. You’re taking me back.

Leave a Reply

