Jah-Makin me Ponder……….

Of all of the things at the Bob Marley Museum, I kept feeling some sort of cosmic draw to this pick-up. It was his vehicle. It said a lot about him. It reinforced his simplicity. Towards the end of his life, he probably could have afforded any car he wanted, yet, this was it. Still has a dirty t-shirt in the back, some kind of spare part and a pair of his shoes.  That day, my sistren Sabriya, took Toya and I to the museum. It was the middle of our trip. We had been using the word *winning* a lot, because of the amount of experiences we’d managed to pack into such a short space of time. That day was when I felt at a crossroads in my life.

 Bob Marley could have never even dreamed to imagine the worldwide embrace, and legendary status he’s accomplished, nor could he have imagined that the things that he’d acquired along the way in pursuit of his dream, would be on display, in such a show of reverence. It was a full circle moment for me.

The reason for my Jamaica trip, was to attend the Reggae Film Festival, as a film that I had written, produced and acted in was being recognized. I was there pursuing my dream,.. at least one of them. I cannot even begin to describe all of the disappointments along the way, when trying to get that film to go from a poem I’d written, probably when I was lonely and horny, 😀 to a visual piece, now being screened and critiqued by people who I truly admired. I thought about Bob, and wondered how many people told him, Peter and Bunny, how foolish they were for pursuing their dream. I wonder how many times they were discouraged, even gave up, before they all were able to clench their rightful place in history.

All we can truly do is live our lives, our best life, (omg ..I’m quoting Oprah), be true to ourselves, and in doing so, maybe we may end up not selling ourselves short, and claim a legendary spot in time. Not gaining favour or fortune at anyone’s expense, but just truly finding our purpose and going after our dreams. That is when I think we truly inspire others. I don’t tell people my dreams, because there are too many dream catchers and killers, so I just try to live and let live. Will my shit be displayed in a museum in Antigua 30 years from now?…lol 🙂 ,..I dunno….who could ever dream that shit, but having seen with my own two eyes where he came from, and what he’s accomplished, I guess stranger things have happened. I stood there, holding on to that pick-up, for only what had to be like 2 minutes, and all of these wild things were running through my mind.

It’s my kinda ride. I’m not a fancy chick by any means. I could see myself in the front seat, foot up on the dashboard, very un-lady like, like I always do when I’m not driving. I’m back in the 70’s, standing by the road in ma lil one shoulder dress and flip-flops, and his blue pick-up would roll up on me, and he’d say, “ Baby Love”, the way only a real Jamaican man can say it. He would flash that classic smile, and I’d jump right on in, and let him take me anywhere he wanted. I think the expression on my face was mid fantasy, when I was contemplating getting in, and not tryna smile too hard to appear easy to him.

Yeah Yeah I know…. My mind is f*^ked up. I dunno if his spirit min day ‘bout, but I couldn’t deny that there was something, some kind of energy about that place and that vehicle. Creative people can be sooo weird.

Give thanks to Sabriya for taking the time out of her busy schedule, to take us out and just being a great hostess.

 Jah-Makin’ Me wanna comeback

It was a good day

 
About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jah-Makin me Ponder……….

  1. Joanne says:

    God must’ve sent you to remind me of this tonight (been one of those nights). I too don’t like speaking my dreams but I damn sure be chasin’ them. Live up! Looking for details of the festival, btw, when you get back.

  2. Linisa says:

    You know I know EXACTLY how you feel, just like Jo I stopped speaking of my dreams, but I damn sure be running that bus down 🙂 xoxoxoxoxo

  3. Briya says:

    🙂 🙂 Awesomeness! 🙂

    I remember a couple years ago when u were dreaming of coing to JA just for vacation… now look… your first trip… and because of what!! (my film-maker sistah) 😀

    To Live ON purpose and WITH purpose… knowing and trusting in out divine nature… clearing the way to allow those dreams to manifest… taking time to move beyond any ‘obstacle’… no matter what gets in our way… the fact is… The Way… still exists ;)… I say YES to dat blouse n skirt!!! LOL!!! Love this sis… keep it flowing… the tide is endless and u’re one with the ‘water’ ;)!

    Love u and Proud of u.

    Til the next trip 😉 Woooop woooop!!

  4. Nati says:

    I know what you mean about the vibe at the BMM…
    Did u touch, see the bullet holes in the wall where he and some others were shot up?
    Hence his “Ambush in the night” song? Quite surreal.
    Glad you had a good time there as well…Jamaica is a great place to breeze and hol’ a vibez! 🙂
    Congrats on having your film recognized…waiting for the day when you get the DVD’s done so I can cop my own.
    I sooo feel you on the dream catchers and killers…for that reason, I share some with only those I hold close to my spirit…
    Dream big, be happy, dance always, love much and “live your best life” indeed!
    One love Tammy!

Leave a Reply

