‘Tis the Effin’ Season… Ho ho ho…………

..Or is it Bah Humbug.

“Sweet baby Jesus in a manger! This time of year drives me nutz,..or should I say crazy.”

(My 7 year old daughter informed me that nuts are private parts,..lol,.) I’ll get more into my children’s whitty comments on another post.)

‘Tis the season to be jolly, fa-la-la-la-la-la-la-la-la. That’s what the song says, but I haven’t felt jolly about anything to do with Christmas in years.

Maybe it’s me realizing that I AM Santa Clause, and not some fat white guy bringing the goodies. 

Or, maybe that in December, all I am thinking about is having to pay tuition for the new years semester, (its 2 tuitions this year might I add, so double the money). 

Maybe it’s because  everybody around me seems to develops a second stomach, so groceries need to be multiplied, therefore more money spending. 

It could also be that in Antigua, they use any holiday or event to block off all the effin’ main streets in town, so people can walk in them, instead of the sidewalks. 

It might be because the kid that I have who is old enough to get in on the gimmicks, feels she has a free pass to ask me to buy everything her little eyes set on, …

Or it may be something like someone buying me a gift, and me feeling like shit because I cannot afford to buy one back.

Yeah…christmas is great,….

The only ho ho ho I know is the one in my garden, and the lady who lives just ….(well never mind, I won’t get into that)…

Am I a female Ebenezer Scrooge? No,.not even close. Do I love Christmas? Not really. I respect the TRUE meaning behind it, and I love the idea of my family coming together and celebrating, (though I can only take the ‘family celebration’ thing in teaspoons as opposed to the whole bottle.)

I will get the kids something I know that they will like, and I will feel joy beyond description when their little faces light up in gratitude. I am currently on the hunt for a nice gift for my husband, but thankfully, he’s not fussy about those things.  I hope to be able to get my crackberry woman something, but my budget is teetering on full blown cardiac arrest, so its currently under observation.

(Hey Nema, you get the hospital joke) lolol

I don’t drink alcohol, but maybe this season I might need some a dat ‘rum and redbull’ stuff and some of dem nuts my daughter was talking about to make it through.

Come een January!!

About bak2moi

I am a woman trying to balance motherhood and womanhood, while pursuing her dreams. Hopefully I get to keep at least foot on the ground during the process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

